Saka, Greenwood & Bellingham nominated for the Golden Boy award

England stars including Bukayo Saka, Mason Greenwood and Jude Bellingham have made a list of 100 initial nominees for this year's Golden Boy award.

The award, which was established in 2003, is presented annually to the best young player under 21 and featuring across the top tier leagues in Europe.

From the 100 names published by one of the founders and contributors to the award in Italian outlet Tuttosport, there are 15 featuring from the Premier League with Arsenal boasting the most nominees from England with four players

They include England star Bukayo Saka, with Gabriel Martinelli, Folarin Balogun and William Saliba all featuring.

Chelsea have three nominees including Scotland star Billy Gilmour as well as Tino Anjorin and Armando Broja.

Both Manchester clubs are represented twice, with United featuring the more recognised Mason Greenwood and Amad Diallo while City make the list with Filip Stevanovic and Adrian Bernabe.

Wolves stars Rayan Ait-Nouri and Fabio Silva make the cut as do Curtis Jones and Luke Thomas for Liverpool and Leicester City respectively.

However, among the Premier League's 'big six' there is not a single nomination for any of Tottenham Hotspur's Under 21 players.

Another English star features on the list though with Euro 2020 call-up Jude Bellingham making the cut following an excellent display in his first season at Borussia Dortmund.

The nominations take into account the form of a player throughout the calendar year, so the existing 100 names will be judged again before the end of the year when a winner is announced.

Bellingham's Dortmund team-mate Erling Haaland is the current holder of the award which sees journalists across European publications nominate their top five players.

They are scored in order of a top five basis - giving them a point value in allocation from 10 points down to , seven, five, three and one point.

Many of the previous winners have gone to star in the game including Wayne Rooney, Lionel Messi, Cesc Fabregas and Sergio Aguero who all picked up the award in the years following Rafael van der Vaart's inaugural win in 2003.

Other notable winners include Mario Balotelli in 2010, Paul Pogba while he was Juventus in 2013 and Raheem Sterling who picked up the award while a Liverpool star in 2014.

More recently, Kylian Mbappe collected the accolade in 2017 following an excellent year for Monaco and Paris Saint-Germain.


Popular posts from this blog

Kylian Mbappe told Jordi Alba 'I'll kill you in the street' during heated clash

Champions League games: The eight most shocking moments throughout history

Solskjaer says Amad Diallo could make his debut against Real Sociedad